TSAC MEETING MINUTES

December 7, 2021 - Teleconference

I. Call to Order and Opening Remarks

Mr. Matthew Layman, Designated Federal Officer (DFO): Called the meeting to order and welcomed everyone present. Mr. Layman provided an outline of the meeting and discussed the process for both committee members and the public to provide comments and participate in the meeting.

II. Roll Call: Quorum was established.

TSAC Members – Present:

- 1. John Hazel
- 2. Steve Huttman
- 3. Andrew Gauthier
- 4. Matthew LaGarde
- 5. Lindsay Price
- 6. Mark Sawyer
- 7. Angie Fay
- 8. Douglas Covil
- 9. Ray Richmond
- 10. Jonathan Steinberg
- 11. Laura Wilcox
- 12. Eric Johansson
- 13. Joy Terral
- 14. Alex Van Dusen
- 15. Brian Khey
- 16. Robert Keister
- 17. John Arenstam

TSAC Members - Not Present:

1. Marc Dial

III. Opening Remarks:

Opening remarks provided by the Chief of the Office of Operating and Environmental Standards, CDR Jerry Butwid.

IV. Acceptance of Inaugural Meeting Agenda:

NTSAC Members were given a copy of the teleconference meeting agenda ahead of the meeting. The agenda was unanimously accepted and added to the NTSAC administrative record without discussion.

V. Elections:

NTSAC members elected, Mr. Steve Huttman and Mrs. Laura Wilcox to serve as NTSAC's Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson respectively. After being elected both Mr. Huttman and Mrs. Wilcox briefly addressed the committee members and the public expressing their mutual excitement to get the committee working.

In accordance with Article 5, Section 4-B of NTSAC's Bylaws, the Designated Federal Officer may establish a Task Statement Vetting Committee for the specific purpose of coordinating the development of Task Statements for the National Towing Safety Advisory Committee's consideration. The Vetting Committee must be composed of at least five members of NTSAC in good standing. A majority vote of the Vetting Committee members is required for a proposed Task Statement to be forwarded to the Designated Federal Officer for consideration.

During the meeting NTSAC members appointed the following committee members to the Task Statement Vetting Committee (Chair and Vice Chair of the Committee will be appointed by the Chair/Vice-Chair).

- 1. Angie Fay
- 2. Lindsay Price
- 3. Mark Sawyer
- 4. Angie Fay
- 5. Jonathan Steinberg
- 6. Eric Johansson
- 7. Brian Khey
- 8. Robert Keister

VI. Issuance of New Tasking:

Committee members were given copies of new task statements prior to the meeting. Each of the following tasks was summarized and the committee members and public were given a chance to comment on each.

• Task 21-01, "Recommendations for the Criteria Used to Apply the Term "Occasional Towing"

Mrs. Laura Wilcox provided a summary of the work that was done under the legacy (TSAC) committee with respect to defining the term *occasional towing*. Mr. Eric Johannson suggested that Mrs. Wilcox lead the 21-01 subcommittee.

Three members of the public volunteered to participate in completion of Task 21-01. Those individuals were, Ms. Tina Cardone (C-PORT), Mr. Marc Crutcher (OMSA), and Mr. Joe Frohnhoefer (SEATOW).

• Task 21-03 titled, "Report On the Anticipated Challenges Expected to Impact the Towing Vessel Industry"

Mr. Eric Johannson and Mr. Mark Sawyer both expressed concerns that Task 21-03 was too broad in scope and suggested that it be referred to the Vetting Committee for review and feedback prior to establishing a subcommittee to begin work. The DFO responded that a major goal of this task statement is to inform the development of future NTSAC tasking. The DFO stated that he would communicate with the NTSAC Chair and Vice- Chair to determine the best course of action. Mr. Matt LaGarde provided a comment supporting the task and the importance of not delaying work on a draft final report.

Four members of the public volunteered to participate in completion of Task 21-01. Those individuals were, Ms. Tina Cardone (C-PORT), Mr. Marc Crutcher (OMSA), Ms. Caitlyn Stewart (AWO), and Mr. Joe Frohnhoefer (SEATOW).

• Task 21-04, "Report on the Challenges Faced by the Towing Vessel Industry as a Result of the Covid-19 Pandemic"

Mr. Brian Khey inquired about the timing of the draft final report for Task 21-04 and if it would be used to inform the development of ongoing rulemakings at the Department of Labor (OSHA). The DFO responded that there was no expectation that the report for Task 21-04 inform another agencies rulemaking, but did not want to limit how the committee wanted to scope and develop the document.

Three members of the public volunteered to participate in completion of Task 21-01. Those individuals were, Ms. Tina Cardone (C-PORT), Mr. Marc Crutcher (OMSA), and Ms. Caitlyn Stewart (AWO).

NTSAC will establish sub-committees for each which will then work towards developing final reports to be further discussed during future NTSAC meetings.

VII. NTSAC FACA Planning:

LT Josh Villafane, NTSAC ADFO, provided a briefing on the FACA administration and planning. Highlights included:

The current NSTAC charter was filed with Congress on October 15, 2021. The next charter renewal filing is to occur by October 15, 2023, two years from the date of the current filing. Committee Membership appointment letters were signed on August 17, 2021, with a term to expire on December 31, 2024, but may continue serving for up to an additional year until their position is filled.

The USCG intends to have an in-person FACA meeting sometime in 2022, pending any potential travel restrictions related to the pandemic. The date and location has yet to be selected, however, we will coordinate with the committee members to determine the best time and location.

There were no comments from TSAC members or the public regarding FACA administration. One member of the public, Caitlyn Stewart (AWO) inquired about whether there would be any intent to stagger the NTSAC membership slate so that all 18 positions would not have to be solicited and filled at one time. The DFO responded that due to the urgency to get NTSAC up and running, the Coast Guard had no choice but to appoint all members at one time. The DFO reassured the public that overtime, for various reasons, vacancies on the committee will open up. As those vacancies come to fruition, the Coast Guard can then make a determine how to stagger membership and fill positions.

VIII. TVNCOE and CVC Updates:

CDR Andrew Bender provided updates from the Towing Vessel Center of Expertise. CDR Mike Hjerstedt (CVC-1) provided updates from the Office of Commercial Vessel Compliance regarding Subchapter M Compliance.

IX. NTSAC Member Comments:

None.

X. Public Comment Period:

Four comments were received from the public. Ms. Tina Cardone (C-PORT) provided a brief description of the mission and purpose of the organization she represents, Conference of Professional Towing Operators. Mr. Joseph Frohnhoefer (SEATOW) provided a brief description of the mission and purpose of his organization. Mr. Brian McNamara (Tulane University) congratulated the NTSAC members on receiving appointments and thanked them for their service. Ms. Samantha Chase (NIOSH) congratulated the new NTSAC members on receiving their appointments and offered up he assistance should the committee have any questions regarding workplace safety.

X. Next Meeting:

The next TSAC meeting has not yet been scheduled.

XI. Closing Remarks:

A motion to close the meeting was made by Mr. Eric Johannson and seconded by Mr. Brian Khey. There was no further discussion and the meeting was adjourned.

Matthe]

Mr. Matthew Layman, USCG Designated Federal Officer